Jonathan du Toit (Trans Africa Racing Honda Civic) emerged as the overall winner at the fourth round of the 2018 autObarn SuperHatch championship, held at Midvaal Raceway on Saturday, 2 June. Louis Scholtz (Car Care Clinic Honda Civic) won class B with Almero van Eck (Burris Polo) topping class C.

Brett Garland leads the charge to the first corner

Brett Garland leads the charge to the first corner

In the opening race Brett Garland (autObarn / Total / Sabat Honda Civic), who set the quickest time in the morning qualifying session, was the early leader, but once his gearbox let go, du Toit had an untroubled run to his first win of the day. He was followed home by Nic Martin (Rex Diff & Gearbox Opel Kadet) and Andre Dannhauser (Pro Auto Rubber / Jetstik Opel Corsa).

In class B Scholtz and Zane van Zyl (Credit Guarantee VW Golf) had a race-long tussle with Scholtz just able to hold off the championship leader to take a hard-earned victory. Mel Spurr (G & H Transport/Castrol VW Polo) took third with Alex Marques (Ace Auto Polo) having his best outing of the season in fourth. Riaas Asmal (Volkswagen Motorsport Polo) and Ishmael Baloyi (Trans Africa Racing Honda Civic) rounded out the… Continue reading

Midvaal Raceway, south of Johannesburg, hosts the autObarn SuperHatch competitors for the fourth round of their 2018 championship Saturday, 2 June. Approaching the half-way mark of the season, the overall championship is led by Zane van Zyl (Credit Guarantee/Rim Africa VW Golf). He has a six-point lead over Almero van Eck (Nosler VW Polo) who has Louis Scholtz (Car Care Clinic Honda Civic) just a point behind him. Reno van Heerden (KWC VW Polo) is a further four points back with Tony Hyams (Building Code Consultants Ford Fiesta) and Brett Garland (autObarn/Total Honda Civic) hot on his heels.

Brett Garland

Brett Garland leads the class A championship

In class A, Garland leads the way from Jonathan du Toit (Trans Africa Racing Honda Civic) with Werner Pieterse (Scarlet Sun/Valhalla Spares VW Golf), who had engine problems last time out at Zwartkops in third. Andre Dannhauser also had his last outing cut short when the motor in his Pro Auto Rubber/Jetstik Opel Corsa let go, is still in fourth on the log. He has now reverted to his old 1800cc motor for Midvaal. Shaun Smith (Pretoria Noord Toyota/MLT 926 Toyota RunX) and Chris Davidson (Precision Race Technologies Opel Superboss) could be among those fighting… Continue reading