autObarn SuperHatch - 2017The SuperHatch brigade headed off to Midvaal Raceway for their 8th round of the championship. Apart from the fact that a large number of the competitors had never raced there before, the race would be run in an anti-clockwise direction for the first time in SuperHatch history.

Qualifying started off early, and the regular names topped the time sheets. Jono du Toit (TAR Honda Civic) lead the charge in class A, followed by Brett Garland (autObarn/Jonnesway/Total Honda Civic) and Chris Davison (Opel SuperBoss). Class B saw Nic Martin (RDG/Care Care Clinic Opel Kadett) posting the fastest time, followed by Zane van Zyl (Credit Guarantee VW Golf mkII) and Andre Dannhauser (Pro Auto Rubber / Jestik Opel Corsa). In class C it was once again Shaun Besteman (RDG VW Golf mkI) setting the pace, followed by Alex Marques (Aces Spares VW Polo) and Barry Viljoen (BB Diagnostics Opel Kadett).


Continue reading

autObarn SuperHatch - 2017For the 7th round of the autObarn SuperHatch Championship, the competitors headed off to Delmas to compete at Red Star Raceway. This was the first time a SuperHatch race would be held in a clockwise direction at the track, so it was new territory for everybody.

Friday’s practice started off with Louis Scholtz’ Civic blowing its engine in spectacular fashion on the very first lap. He refused to let this ruin his weekend though – he returned the same evening with another engine fitted, ready to do battle.

Saturday’s qualifying went off with no major incident. Jono du Toit once again topped the timesheets in his TAR Honda Civic, followed by Brett Garland in his autObarn/Jonnesway/Total Honda Civic and Chris Davison in the yellow SuperBoss. In class B Nic Martin set the pace in his RDG Opel Kadett, followed by Zane van Zyl in the Credit Guarantee Golf 2, and Andre Dannhauser in the ProAuto Rubber Corsa. Class C saw the Golf of Shaun Besteman claiming top spot, followed by Alex Marques in the Aces Spares VW Polo, and Vernon Stoltz rounding up the top three in his Jestik/Lopec Episerve Opel Kadett.

Continue reading