The WesBank Super Series was at Zwartkops this past weekend and SuperHatch was also there as the only non-national category on the program, and if that is not enough of a feather in our caps… we got the magic number of 40 cars on our grid, a new record for SuperHatch.


We had a short warm up session on Saturday morning and with 40 cars out there posting a time it was really busy on track and surprisingly class A’s quickest man Mark Silverwood in his OKI Printing Solutions, Q8Oils MINI, still managed a 1:14.906, the quickest ever SuperHatch lap and almost a second ahead of brothers Jono & Mark du Toit in the Trans Africa Honda Civics.


Class B saw the top 6 times covered by less than 0.6 of a second, with Andre de Lange in his ADL VW Golf quickest ahead of Pierre Lubbe in the Trio Racing VW Golf and the RDG Opel Kadett of Nic Martin


Class C saw the return of the Fury Ford Fiesta of Jeff Langeveldt, straight back to the top of the time sheets ahead of James Menin in the West cars Opel Kadett and the AFW Opel… Continue reading

SuperHatch descended on Midvaal Raceway this past weekend for our third and final visit of the year. Cool and windy conditions could not dampen the excitement as the championship heats up as the season draws to a close.

Warm up
We were 2nd on the program so we had an early start and with the track a bit chilly the times were not quite as quick as normal. As usual class A leader Mark Silverwood (OKI Printing Solutions – MINI Cooper S) was fastest followed by Geoff Tugwell (Connect-it – VW Golf) and Ishmael Baloyi (TAR – VW Golf). Class B had a cat amongst the pigeons with Andre de Lange (ADL Roofing) in the ex: Johan Grobelaar Golf Mk1 only 0.1 seconds behind championship leader Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Parts – Peugeot 206), with 2010 champion Nic Martin (RDG – Opel Kadett) 3rd quickest in class. In class C it was James Menin (West Cars – Opel Kadett) only just ahead of Mark Gregory (VW Golf) and Marius Lotz (VW Golf). Jacques Joubert in his Leatt Brace – Ford Fiesta was easily fastest of the class N field, followed by brothers Basil and Jason van der Westhuizen.

Race 1… Continue reading