Close racing at Midvaal for autObarn SuperHatch

Jonathan du Toit (Trans Africa Racing Honda Civic) emerged as the overall winner at the fourth round of the 2018 autObarn SuperHatch championship, held at Midvaal Raceway on Saturday, 2 June. Louis Scholtz (Car Care Clinic Honda Civic) won class B with Almero van Eck (Burris Polo) topping class C.

Brett Garland leads the charge to the first corner
Brett Garland leads the charge to the first corner

In the opening race Brett Garland (autObarn / Total / Sabat Honda Civic), who set the quickest time in the morning qualifying session, was the early leader, but once his gearbox let go, du Toit had an untroubled run to his first win of the day. He was followed home by Nic Martin (Rex Diff & Gearbox Opel Kadet) and Andre Dannhauser (Pro Auto Rubber / Jetstik Opel Corsa).

In class B Scholtz and Zane van Zyl (Credit Guarantee VW Golf) had a race-long tussle with Scholtz just able to hold off the championship leader to take a hard-earned victory. Mel Spurr (G & H Transport/Castrol VW Polo) took third with Alex Marques (Ace Auto Polo) having his best outing of the season in fourth. Riaas Asmal (Volkswagen Motorsport Polo) and Ishmael Baloyi (Trans Africa Racing Honda Civic) rounded out the top six.

Tony Hyams (Building Code Consultants Ford Fiesta) looked to have class C in the bag, but a 30-second penalty for overtaking under yellow flags dropped him down to sixth. Hyams’ indiscretion meant van Eck inherited the win. He ended the race over three seconds ahead of Freddy Watkins (Top Lock / Pro Lock VW Polo) who was less than a second ahead of Marius Rossouw (CW Motorsport Conversions Opel Corsa). Reno Van Heerden (KWC VW Polo) had to settle for fourth with Robert Stoltz (Jetstik/Episerve Opel Kadett) in fifth.

In race 2 Dannhauser took the early lead from Martin with du Toit close behind. A spin by du Toit dropped him back down the field, but he was able to work his way back to the front and take his second victory of the day. He was followed home by Dannhauser with Martin classified third.

Class B was another fight between Scholtz and van Zyl, with Scholtz again managing to hold off van Zyl to take the win. Sandro Godinho (Bidvest Panalpina Logistics VW Golf) got the better of Asmal to take the final podium position. Marques and Baloyi rounded out the top six.

Tony Hyams
Tony Hyams

Hyams made no mistake in the second race, working his way to the front, to take class C from Stoltz and van Eck. Rossouw finished in fourth ahead of Nick Cleary (Opel Corsa) and van Heerden.

Mat Cohen, driving the specially adapted VW Motorsport Polo, took both wins in the Invitational class.

In the day’s overall standings du Toit took class A from Dannhauser and Martin. Class B went to Scholtz from van Zyl and Asmal with van Eck claiming class C ahead of Stoltz and Rossouw.

The autObarn SuperHatch drivers now make their way to Dezzi Raceway on the KwaZulu-Natal south coast for the fifth round of their championship which takes place on Saturday, 11 August.