Midvaal for a second time in as many months

[singlepic id=4099 w=320 h=240 float=center] SuperHatch returned to the Meyerton circuit for round 4 of the championship on Saturday the 8th of June, with 22 cars lining up on the grid in the cold but thankfully dry conditions this time round.

Qualifying/Warm up

With the usual top 5 per class grid reversal based on the previous finishing order, not everyone worries about the fastest lap – however it does score the fastest driver per class a point for whoever gets it…
Class A’s quickest Saturday morning was Geoff Tugwell in his VW Golf mk1, ahead of Brett Garland (Jonnesway tools Honda Civic) and Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Peugeot 206) was third quickest.
Class B saw one of the rookies to SuperHatch set the pace in the form of Andre Calitz in his AC Group VW Golf mk1 ahead of Jaco Kriel (IDG Opel SuperBoss) and Morne Human in the Action Ford, Ford Fiesta.
aka signage
All Toy Spares
ASAP New and Used Spares
ATS Motorsport Supplier
Campos Transport
Car Care Clinic
The Car King
PTA Noord Toyota
Spurr Racing
The Big Z - Zwartkops Raceway
Class C had lady driver Louise van der Walt (Car King Ford Fiesta) set the times ahead of Marius Roberts (Tyre Shield Opel Kadett) and 3rd quickest was Jacques van der Zee (Tugwell Citroen C2)

Race 1

[singlepic id=4088 w=320 h=240 float=center] With the reverse grid on finishing order from Kyalami Pierre Lubbe (The Harness co Audi A3) was on pole with Tugwell alongside him, and van Nieuwenhuizen and Garland on the second row, lights on and off and away they went, all clean and Tugwell had got the lead with Garland and van Nieuwenhuzien behind him, Spurr (ASAP, Wealth Ave, Castrol, Harness co Opel Corsa) and Jaco Lubbe (ASAP Peugeot) right there with Pierre Lubbe (The Harness co Audi A3), when Tugwell out braked himself and handed the lead to Garland, van Nieuwenhuizen stayed with him. Getting back through the field Tugwell got past the field again and crossed the line behind Garland who took the win, van Nieuwenhuizen in 2nd and Geoff settling for third.
Class B’s line up saw SuperBoss man Kriel on pole with Ish Baloyi (TAR Honda Civic) alongside him and Nic Martin (RDG Opel Kadett) and Peter Lotter VW Golf mk 1 on the second row. They got off the line well, Lotter sidelined himself in turn one on lap one and Kriel and Martin got a small gap on the rest of the pack and kept one another honest, behind them Baloyi, Human and Jono Konig (Northern Bolt VW Golf mk1) were keeping one another busy, but the flag went to Martin ahead of Kriel and Ish brought it home in 3rd.
Class C saw the front row of Pieter Pienaar (VW Golf mk2) and Jacques van der Zee on the front row with James Fuller (New Age Tyre specialists VW Golf mk1) and Louise on the 2nd row of the grid. From the start Louise meant business and put her head down, and took Roberts with her, the 2 of them pulled a small gap and held it, Fuller went off and got a puncture, while van der Zee, Pienaar and Marius Lotz (VW Golf mk 1) were in a battle for the entire race with the rest never too far behind. The flag went to Roberts from van der Walt.

Race 2

[singlepic id=4093 w=320 h=240 float=center] The front row of class A had the motor mouth Greg Moloney (ASAP Peugeot) on pole with Mel alongside him, and Geoff and Hilton just behind them, lights on and off and Mel had a great start and got away from the pack, and entered the back straight still in first place with Tugwell, van Nieuwenhuizen and Garland all charging hard, one by one, within the laps they got past her and Geoff had to fend Garland off to take the win, with van Nieuwenhuizen coming home in 3rd.
Class B front row went to Morne Human with Konig alongside him and Ish and Kriel on the 2nd row, Jaco Kriel wasted no time in getting to the front and staying there, while Nic hung onto 2nd and Konig finished up on the podium ahead of Baloyi.
Class C saw Lotz on the front row and next to him was Pienaar with van der Zee and van der Walt just behind them, a bit of ‘rubbing’ in the class and racing was tight with 3 of the drivers, breaking the class C lap record in one day (van der Walt, Roberts and van der Zee) but across the line the honors went to Roberts ahead of van der Walt and Fuller who had made a comeback from the first heat mis-fortune, with the top 3 crossing the line within 1 second of each other.
Photos courtesy of Frikkie Ströh and Steve Wicks – THANKS guys.


  • Class A: Brett Garland, Geoff Tugwell, Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen
  • Class B: Nic Martin, Jaco Kriel, Ishmael Baloyi
  • Class C: Marius Roberts, Louise van der Walt, Jacques van der Zee
  • Index winner for the day: Mel Spurr
1 A16 Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen Peugeot 206 61
2 B2 Nic Martin Opel Kadett 53
3 C46 Louise Van Der Walt Ford Fiesta 50
4 A100 Geoff Tugwell VW Golf mk1 38
5 B66 Ishmael Baloyi Honda Civic 36
6 B9 Jaco Kriel Opel SuperBoss 34
7 C101 Jacuues Van Der Zee Citroen C2 34
8 A1 Mark du Toit Ford Fiesta 33
9 C99 Marius Roberts Opel Kadett 31
10 C78 Pieter Pienaar VW Golf mk2 28
The next round of the championship will take place at Phakisa on the 22nd of June where the race will be a 200km endurance event.

See you all trackside.