Round 4 – Youth day @ Zwartkops

The Leisure Grass SuperHatch series raced at their home track Zwartkops this Tuesday as part of round 6 of the Extreme Festival.
In qualifying it was our lady driver Robyn Kruger in her brother’s VW Polo GT (Best Dad sponsor) making a welcome return and going quickest, ahead of Jono du Toit (also borrowing his brothers car for the day) TAR Honda Civic and Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen in his ASAP Citroen C2.
In class B Morne Human (X35 VW Golf mk1) set the pace ahead of siblings Jono and Stuart Konig in their Northern Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206’s.
Class C’s ADL Roofings Andre De Lange in his Ford Fiesta was quickest, ahead of Mel Spurr (Castrol/G & H/Wealth Ave Opel Corsa) and Tyler Scott (Jestik/Lopec/Set it Up Opel Kadett)
The grid was reversed from the Phakisa results and with the shared drives it mixes things up somewhat.
Class A saw Willem van Nieuwenhuizen on pole (ASAP Peugeot) with Jono du Toit alongside him and Kruger rounding up the top 3 Class B had Nic Martin (RDG Opel Kadett) on the front row, with new comer Alex Marques (FSU Developments /Goldwagen MK1 Golf) and third on the grid in class B was Ish Baloyi (TAR Honda) Class C’s Sammy Gerber (Forklift Connections /ASAP Peugeot 206) ahead of Robert Stoltz and Tyler Scott in the teams Opel Kadetts (Jestik/Lopec Spares/ Set It Up)
In race 1: it was Hilton who got ahead in the early stages and maintained the lead, he took the flag from Pieterse and Garland. While Martin took the B honours from Human and Jono Konig, and in the C’s it was De Lange who took the flag ahead of Spurr and Hyams (Building Code Ford Fiesta)
The top 5 reversal of the grid from the finishing order of race 1, saw the front row of A’s go to Chris Davison (Opel SuperBoss) with Kruger alongside him, B’s front row went to Jaco Kriel (Motor Mac Engineering Opel Corsa) with Stuart Konig next to him and in class C Andre Dannhauser (Opel Corsa) was on pole with Stoltz next to him.
In the A’s it was Davison who lead from flag to flag taking his very first ever win, ahead of Garland and Pieterse who had a battle royal after Pieterse was caught in a tussle on lap one and after a 360’ turn came back to finish on the podium.
In the B’s it was Martin who again got his head down regardless of the reverse grid and ensured he got to the front and kept it there, while Human was hot on his heels and they crossed the line with less than 2 hundreds of a second between them, and Stuart Konig rounded up the top 3.
The C’s belonged to De Lange again, who once he got ahead of the C’s ensured he was in the mix of the B’s taking Spurr with him to battle with them, he pulled a gap and took the flag, while Spurr held onto 2nd and Hyams again repeated his 3rd place for the day.
Class A: Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen, Brett Garland, Werner Pieterse
Class B: Nic Martin, Morne Human, Jono Konig
Class C: Andre De Lange, Melanie Spurr, Tony Hyams
The Premiere TV slot from this round will be on SuperSport on the Extreme Festival show on Friday the 10th of July on SS8 @ 18h30
The next round of the championship will be as part of the Sasol Race day at Zwartkops on the 8th of August
THANK YOU for all your continued support of our series