Round 7 – the penultimate round

Round 7 – the penultimate round
The Leisure Grass SuperHatch series ensures that the championship goes down to the wire with
one round to go and a few titles still up for grabs….
This National Heritage day SuperHatchers heritage is racing and that is just how the day was
spent… at their home circuit.
In the warm up it was class A’s Werner Pieterse (Valhalla Spares VW Golf mk1) was the quickest
man on track, with Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP/Safe Guard Citroen C2) and Jeffrey Kruger
(Steamsure VW Polo) behind him on the time sheets.
In class B Morne Human (X35 VW Golf mk1) set the pace ahead of Nic Martin (RDG Opel Kadett)
and Jono Konig (Northern Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206)
Class C saw Andre De Lange (ADL Roofing Ford Fiesta) ahead of rookie Ethan van Heerden
(Motul/Nutritech Ford Fiesta) and Andre Dannhauser (Opel Corsa)
Race 1: Chris Davison (Opel SuperBoss)
was on the front row with Mark du Toit
(TAR Honda Civic) alongside him, Pieterse
had a magnificent start and took Hilton
along with him, and they crossed the line
in that order with Jeffrey Kruger rounding
up the top 3 spots.
Class B’s front row had Chris vd
Westhuizen (CMS Industrial/Automax VW
Golf mk1) on pole with Jaco Kriel
(Dynoholics/MJK Partfinders Opel Corsa)
next to him, but it was Morne who got ahead and the Konig brothers rounded up the top 3 spots
with the younger brother Jono ahead of his big brother Stuart.
Class C saw the brother in laws Robert Stoltz (Jestik/Lopec/Step it up Opel Kadett), and Tyler
Scott (Jestik/Lopec/Step it up Opel Kadett) on the front row. But it was De Lange who got ahead
quickly and just maintained the gap from Melanie Spurr (G & H/Castrol/Turn 1 Opel Corsa) and
Tyler Scott who took the last podium spot.
Race 2: and Brett Garland (Jonnesway/Autobarn/Oasis Honda Civic) was on the top spot with du
Toit in the 2nd spot, Pieterse went off in lap 1, but it was Kruger who got away quickly and
ensured it stayed that way, Garland managed to hang onto 2nd place with van Nieuwenhuizen
taking the final podium position.
In Class B Zane van Zyl (VW Golf mk2) took
up the first spot and Ishmael Baloyi (TAR
Honda Civic) was with him, off the start
though Human, Martin and the Konigs
wasted no time in getting to the front and
the battle between them continued from
race 1. Again it was Human who took the
flag but this time from Martin and the elder
Konig brother Stuart.
Class C this time round saw Dannhauser on pole and Stoltz next to him, but it was De Lange again
who wasted no time to get to the front and keep his nose clean, while the rest battled behind
him for position. In the end it was Scott who finished up 2nd ahead of Dannhauser in the final
Class A: Jeffrey Kruger, Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen, Brett Garland
Class B: Morne Human, Stuart Konig, Jono Konig
Class C: Andre De Lange, Tyler Scott, Melanie Spurr
The Premiere TV slot from this
round will be on SuperSport 8 on
the Extreme Festival show and we
will advise on the times.
This weekend we are heading off
for our annual charity fishing
weekend where we collect food
for an animal rescue centre and
have a fun weekend together.
The next and final round of the
championship will be at our home
circuit Zwartkops on 6/7 November
THANK YOU for all your continued support of our series – Photos courtesy of Racepics