Round 8 – The Grand FINALE for 2015…

Round 8 – The Grand FINALE for 2015…
The Leisure Grass SuperHatch series 2015 championship title went down to the wire at the final
round at their home circuit Zwartkops.
In the warm up it was class A’s Mark du Toit (TAR Honda Civic) who set the pace ahead of Hilton
van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP/Safe Guard Citroen C2) and Brett Garland (Jonnesway/Oasis/Autobarn
Honda Civic) In class B Morne Human (X35 VW Golf mk1) was the quickest class B ahead of Nic
Martin (RDG Opel Kadett) and rookie driver Grant Bal (SPAR Peugeot 206)Class C fastest man on
track was Andre De Lange (ADL Roofing Ford Fiesta) ahead of rookie Ethan van Heerden
(Motul/Nutritech Ford Fiesta) and Tyler Scott
(Jestic/Lopec/Step it up Opel Kadett)
Race 1: saw Chris Davison (Opel SuperBoss) on
the front row with Mark du Toit alongside him,
but it was van Nieuwenhuizen who wasted no
time getting to the front and taking Garland
with him. But du Toit held on to the second
spot on the podium and Garland rounded up
the top 3.
Class B’s front row had Jono Konig (Northern
Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206) on pole with Jaco
Kriel (Dyno holics/MJK Partfind Opel Corsa)
next to him and Stuart Konig on the 3rd spot
(Northern Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206), but it was Human who got ahead early on and pulled a small
gap on Martin, while Jono Konig held onto the last podium spot for the B’s.
Class C saw Melanie Spurr (G & H/Castrol/Turn 1 Opel Corsa) and van Heerden on the front row
with Scott in third spot, but it was De Lange that had an awesome start and got ahead in no time,
leaving the rest to follow, Spurr blew her engine and handed 2nd place to van Heerden with a lap
to go with Scott taking the 3rd spot.
Race 2: and it was the other van Nieuwenhuizen on the front row with Willem (ASAP Peugeot
207) and Davison alongside him and Garland in third. But again it was Hilton who got the break
and took the flag ahead of Garland and du Toit, but not without another super close battle.
In Class B it was Stuart Konig on pole this time with Kriel again in 2nd spot and Jono Konig in
third… but it was again Human who took the win with Martin in 2nd place and this time Stuart
Konig rounded up the top 3.
Class C this time round saw Jacques van der Zee (Tugwell tooling Citroen C2) on pole and Robert
Stoltz (Lopec/Jestik/Step it up Opel Kadett) next to him and Scott took the third spot. But it was
De Lange again who stamped his authority on the field and took the flag from van der Zee and
van Heerden took the last spot on the podium.
Class A: Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen, Mark du Toit, Brett Garland
Class B: Morne Human, Nic Martin, Jono Konig
Class C: Andre De Lange, Ethan van Heerden, Jacques van der Zee
The Premiere TV slot from this round will be on SuperSport 8 on the Extreme Festival
THANK YOU for all your continued support of our series – Photos courtesy of Racepics
The overall championship awards 2015:
2015 class champions….
Class C – Sponsored by Dyno holics
3rd – Robert Stoltz (Lopec, Jestik, Step it up Opel Kadett)
2nd – Mel Spurr (G & H, Castrol, AKA, Wealth Ave Opel Corsa)
1st – Andre De Lange (ADL Roofing Ford Fiesta)
Class B – Sponsored by Dr Phils
3rd – Jono Konig (Northern Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206)
2nd – Nic Martin (RDG Opel Kadett)
1st – Morne Human (X35 VW Golf mk1)
Class A – Sponsored by LED & Beyond
3rd – Werner Pieterse (IDG, Valhalla spares VW Golf mk1)
2nd – Brett Garland (Jonnesway, OASIS, Autobarn Honda Civic)
1st – Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Citroen C2)
The Just Just award – SPONSORED BY Car Care Clinic – Sammy G
Hard Luck of the year – Jaco Kriel
Piston Broke – Sponsored by Car Care Clinic – Tyler Scott
Gerrie of the year – Sponsored by Car Care Clinic – Phil & G man
Crowd pleaser of the year – Brett Garland
A-O / Clown of the YEAR – Alta van Wyk
SuperHatch TOP 10 OVERALL FOR 2015 SPONSORED BY Northern Bolt & Tool
10th Werner Pieterse
9th Robert ‘Ducky’ Stoltz
8th Stuart Konig
7th Brett Garland
6th Jono Konig
5th Mel Spurr
4th Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen
3rd Nic Martin
2nd Morne Human
1st Andre De Lange
Most improved driver – Sponsored by Custard Slice – Tyler Scott
Newby / Rookie of the year – Andre Dannhauser
Index Winner of the year – Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen
Spirit of SuperHatch –sponsored by ‘ou toppie, Mike Andreka’ – a family affair Robert Stoltz/Tyler
Top Tech Award – sponsored by Spurr Racing – Scois Labaschagne
Best presented car – sponsored by Goldwagen West Rand – a team effort… team Konig
Driver of the Year – Sponsored by willem (Citroen & Peugeot Spares – Andre De Lange
Chairperson’s Award – sponsored by Spurr Racing – Chris Custard Davison
Here’s to another GREAT season in 2016…
13 February RedStar Mini Festival
5 March Zwartkops Inland
23 April Phakisa Festival (Phakisa 200km)
21 May Zwartkops Festival
16 or 18 June Kyalami Festival
9 August (Tuesday) Zwartkops Festival
3 September Zwartkops Festival (Day of distance)
22 October Kyalami Festival
26 November Zwartkops Festival