SuperHatch – RACE report 1 – 2016 – RSR

SuperHatch – RACE report 1 – 2016 – RSR

The 2016 SuperHatch race season is officially underway…
SuperHatch ‘s race 1 of the 2016 season took place at Redstar Raceway just outside Delmas this past weekend, on the 12th/13th of February.
This was the first time any car category has raced on the circuit in an anti-clockwise direction…
New track for all and as a result naturally lap records would be set on the day…
In class A… qualifying Saturday morning saw 2015 class A champion Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Citroen C2) set the pace with a 2:19.819, just ahead of Jeffrey Kruger (Steamsure Combustion VW Polo) with a 2:19.844 and Morne Human (Ancro Mini Cooper S) on a 2:21.539.
Class B’s rookie driver Grant Bal (Spar Peugeot 206) was fastest with a 2:24.632, with Stuart Konig (Northern Bolt & Tool/ASAP Peugeot 207) on a 2:25.778, and Zane van Zyl (mk2 Golf) 2:25.950.
Class C’s Andre Dannhauser (Protek Performance Opel Corsa) was super-fast with a qualifying lap of 2:26.780, ahead of Alta van Wyk (mk1 VW Golf) 2:33.764 and Adriaan Huygen (HAG Auto Body Opel Kadett) on a 2:40.928.
Race one: Saw Jeff Kruger take to the front of the pack in no time and set the pace for the race, with a trouble free, untouched race win from van Nieuwenhuizen and Human, from flag to flag.
Class B’s front pack made a break from the rest and battled hard for the entire race (8 laps of 4kms to be exact) but it was Nic Martin (RDG Opel Kadett) that took the flag from van Zyl and Konig rounding up the top 3.
Class C’s Dannahuser took the flag from van Wyk and van Huygen.

Race two: The usual SuperHatch top 5 per class reverse grid on the finishing order of race 1…
Which put Chris Davison (Opel SuperBoss) on pole ahead of Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic).. but again it was Kruger who wasted very little time in getting out front and making it a double for the day, ahead of van Nieuwenhuizen and du Toit.
Class B’s front row saw Jono Konig (Northern Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206) on pole ahead of Bal, but it was again Stuart who got out front early on, while Martin retired, Bal stayed with the pack this time round and finished up 2nd to Stuart and taking the final podium spot was van Zyl.
Class C’s race 2 was almost a carbon copy of race one, aside from the starting grid. Dannhauser made it a double, from van Wyk and van Huygen, in a clean race.

Class A: Jeffrey Kruger, Hilton van Nieuwehuizen, Jonathan du Toit
Class B: Stuart Konig, Grant Bal, Zane van Zyl
Class C: Andre Dannhauser, Alta van Wyk, Adriaan Huygen
Photos Courtesy of Bronwyn Langeveldt

This was a TV round and will be televised on IGNITION – dates and times will be sent out to all

Next round of the SuperHatch championship will be at Zwartkops on the 5th of March as part of the Inland Racing Series.