THE Swan Song for Kyalami?

This past weekend saw the Extreme Festival take to the Historic circuit of Kyalami, with what may have been the swan song for the iconic circuit… or was it…? [singlepic id=7823 w=320 h=240 float=center]
After a public auction on the 24th of July we will all know…
One thing we do know is that SuperHatch put on a great show which contributed to the success of the days Extreme Festival.

Qualifying/warm up

Northern Bolt and Tool
SS Telecoms
Rowlin National Brokers
Campos Transport
Car Care Clinic
Sky Net
PTA Noord Toyota
Spurr Racing
1st Race
The Big Z - Zwartkops Raceway
[singlepic id=7835 w=320 h=240 float=center] On Friday most drivers managed to get in a few laps and by Saturday morning everyone was ready for the fast flowing track… at 07h30am for qualifying and the track was still cold and slippery, but the times came in no time and in class A Jacques Joubert (SPAR/Gijima Motors Peugeot 206) set the pace ahead of Robyn Kruger (Steamsure Combustion Polo) and Mark du Toit (TAR Honda Civic)
In class B it was all about Louise Joubert ( SPAR/van Dyks Tops Ford Fiesta) ahead of Jono Konig (Northern Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206) and Etienne Spies (VW Golf)
Class C’s Morne Human (Action Ford, Ford Fiesta) was quickest ahead of Tony Hyams (Building Code Ford Fiesta) and Melanie Spurr (Castrol/Wealth Avenue/AKA signage Opel Corsa)

Race 1

With the usual reverse grid from the previous race finish saw the front row of the grid being occupied by Werner Pieterse (Valhalla Spares/IDG VW Golf) alongside Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Peugeot 207) with Brett Garland (Jonnesway/Rockstar Honda Civic) in 3rd place. [singlepic id=7935 w=320 h=240 float=center]
In the race Jacques and Robyn wasted very little time getting to the front of the pack and used all their National experience at this circuit to great effect, they set an identical fastest lap, right down to the thousandth of a second, but Garland got the lap record by a thousand of a second as consolation for finishing 3rd behind Joubert and Kruger respectively.
[singlepic id=7946 w=320 h=240 float=center] In class B, the front row of the grid was occupied by Shaun Besteman (VW Golf) alongside Jono Konig, and 3rd spot going to Stuart Konig debuting his new car (Northern Bolt & Tool Peugeot 206). Louise didn’t want to waste any time and ensured she was leading the class B battle very quickly, Jono and Shaun never let her get too far away and they battled hard with some of the massive class B pack that followed closely with Fuller (New Age Tyre Specialist VW Golf), Baloyi (TAR Honda Civic) and Spies never losing sight of the front three. Joubert took the flag from Jono and Besteman.
Class C’s front row went to Sammy Gerber (Belrex Racing Peugeot 206) and the Action Ford boys Morne and Neil Botha (Ford Laser) making up the top 3. Morne had a cracker of a start and made sure that he was in the thick of the class B battle very quickly leaving the class C boyz and girlz to battle hard to get near him.
Morne finished up first ahead of Hyams and Botha with an all Ford podium finish.

Race 2

Class A’s front row went to Geoff Tugwell (VW Golf) ahead of van Nieuwenhuizen and Garland, again Joubert and Kruger meant business from the time the lights went out and they got to the front end very quickly, with van Nieuwenhuizen, Tugwell and du Toit in a battle, while Garland parked after 3 laps and Davison (Opel SuperBoss) after 5 laps. [singlepic id=8033 w=320 h=240 float=center]
Joubert & Kruger maintained the top 2 steps of the podium and van Nieuwenhuizen took the final step.
[singlepic id=8050 w=320 h=240 float=center] In class B, Baloyi and Fuller lined up on the front row of the grid, and both stayed near the front end of class for the race, but the flag went to Louise Joubert first ahead of Baloyi and Besteman.
Class C’s front row went to Robert Stoltz (Lopec Opel Kadett) and Alta van Wyk (VW Golf), Morne Human again took the class victory from the other 2 Fords of Botha and Hyams.
With battles throughout the field and super close racing, the overall results and days racing was enjoyed by all.

Class Results:

  • Class A: Jacques Joubert, Robyn Kruger, Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen
  • Class B: Louise Joubert, Ishamel Baloyi, Shaun Besteman
  • Class C: Morne Human, Tony Hyams, Neil Botha

The next round of the championship will be at East London on the 19th of July.

Photos Courtesy of
For more photos visit:

See you all trackside.