Car Care Clinic SuperHatch Championship heads for the half-way mark

Red Star Raceway in Mpumalanga will host the fourth round of the 2019 Car Care Clinic SuperHatch Championship on Saturday 20 July. With three rounds of the seven-round championship completed, Nic Martin (Rex Diff & Gearbox Peugeot 207) leads the overall championship standings by 11 points from Louis Scholtz (Car Care Clinic Honda Civic). Brett Garland (autObarn/Incco/Sabat Honda Civic) and Wouter Roos (Nathan’s Motorsport VW Polo) share third place, just a point further back while Tyler Scott (Episerve/Jestik/Lopec Opel Kadett TS) and Mel Spurr (Itre Cugini/ATT/Metal Used Spares VW Polo) occupy fifth and sixth places.

Louis Scholtz
Louis Scholtz leads the way in Class A

Jonathan du Toit (Trans Africa Racing Honda Civic) and Garland shared the Class A wins last time out after some robust racing at Zwartkops, but it is Scholtz who leads the class standings. He has a slender, one-point lead over Garland with Scott a further six points back in third place. Andre de Lange (Roofsure Audi A3) has dropped back a bit but remains in fourth, 10 points behind Scott and three ahead of du Toit. Francois Henning (Select Registration/River End Trading VW Polo), Karel Stols (Pretoria Noord Toyota Etios) and Trevor Stringer (Citrine Designs Peugeot 206) will be joining them in the hunt for points at Red Star as will Tiaan Smith (Javrec/SPS Racing VW Golf).

Nic Martin
Nic Martin heads the overall and Class B standings

Headed to Zwartkops last time out, Martin has yet to finish off the Class B podium but that came to an end when the best he could do in the opening race was a hard-fought fifth place. It didn’t take him long to bounce back though, he claimed his fourth heat win of the season in the second race to extend his Class B championship lead over Roos to 12 points. Spurr is in third place but will miss the Mpumalanga action as she is still recovering from recent surgery. Bryce Pillay (VW Motorsport Polo) claimed his first win of the season at Zwartkops to move up to fourth in the standings, three points ahead of Shane Forget (4Js Auto Opel Cub). Zane van Zyl (Credit Guarantee Golf), who has had more than his fair share of mechanical problems this season, has dropped down to sixth place and will be hoping Lady Luck at least smiles in his direction this time around. Vernon Stoltz (Episerve/Jestik/EBC Opel Kadett) will also be looking to improve his position on the Class B log.

Almero van Eck
Almero van Eck

In Class C only 12 points separate the top six drivers, with the top three just a point apart. Almero van Eck (Taurus VW Polo) and Nathi Msimanga (Squadra Corse VW Polo) both have 45 points with Robert Stoltz (Episerve/Jestik/Lopec Opel Kadett) just a point further back in third. Freddy Watkins (LNF Racing VW Polo) leads the chasing pack in fourth, three points ahead of Andre Dannhauser (Pro Auto Rubber/Jestik Opel Corsa) and Juan van der Walt (Ford Fiesta) who share fifth place. Reno van Heerden (Taurus VW Polo), Reaobaka Komane (Squadra Corse VW Polo), Craig Priestley (Tactical Fluid Ford Laser) and Roux van der Colff (Alimtech Waterproofing/Alignment Masters Ford Laser) will all be out to garner as many points as possible around the twisty four-kilometre circuit. Nolan Fleetwood (Electro Whizz VW Passat) should be able to extend his lead at the top of the Class D standings.

After Friday’s practice sessions, qualifying will get underway at 09h00 on Saturday with the first of the day’s 8-lap heats getting underway at 12h10. The second heat is scheduled to start at 15h40.